Show menu

JB Meijers

JB Meijers, renowned producer (a.o. De Dijk, Acda en de Munnik, Eboman, Supersub, Daryll Ann, Solomon Burke, Ellen ten Damme) was born in Delft in 1972, but moved to the south of Holland, near Antwerp. In 1990 he signed a record deal with Virgin records and released 2 albums with Charmin’ Children, a band strongly rooted in English pop history. This band breaks up in ’93 just before Richard Janssen asked him to join post-Fatal Flowers-band Shine.
During his Shine period he worked a lot with Eboman too and when in ’96 Shine breaks up he starts a band with Felix Maginn (Moke) called Supersub.

His work as a producer is by this time growing out of proportion and when JB’s to be found more in the studio than onstage or in the rehearsal room with Supersub he decides to leave the “band-scene” in 1999 to fully focus on his studiowork.
During Supersub Acda en de Munnik and De Dijk are already having enormous successes and when they ask JB to leisurely join them on stage whenever possible he finds himself not-so-left-the-band-scene after all. Since 2000 JB’s a solid touring and studio craft for both these acts.

Besides all of that, JB arranges scores and does some incidental work in the musical business (Joop van den Ende’s Stage Entertainment) and writes music for a large variety of purposes. Worked with the likes of Solomon Burke, Marc Ribot, Beastie Boys, Money Mark, Antony + Johnsons, The Posies, Big Star, Howe Gelb and more recently Richard Hawley and Jon Allen. Arranges for the Metropole Orchestra. Was on the creative team of hit musical ‘Zij Gelooft In Mij’ on the life of the legendary Dutch singer André Hazes and various other Stage Entertainment productions. Produced and co-wrote the album ‘See You On The Ice’ from female singer and Hollywood actress Carice van Houten. Has recently started co-writing with Dutch superstar singer Ilse DeLange for the Stage Entertainmnet play ‘De Tweeling’ which is set to be a hit.

JB Meijers produced the 11th studio album ‘In Het Midden Van Alles’ by Holland’s biggest pop/rock band BLØF. The album came out in April 2014.

JB Meijers is a member of The Common Linnets, who received 238 points in the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest final and finished second. With their song ‘Calm After The Storm’ – co-written and produced by JB Meijers – they reached the best result for The Netherlands since 1975.